Skip to docs navigation Skip to main content

Documentation

Permissions

Permissions are a way to give certain account access to certain users or groups, in any combination that you see fit.

First, log in and create the folders you’ll need. You can do that on the Files tab.

Next, click on the Pemissions tab. This area shows you who can access a particular folder. When you land on the Home screen, you will be on the ‘root’ folder (the outermost folder). You can alternate between the Files tab and the Permissions tab to navigate into certain folders and then view the permissions for that folder.

To grant permission on a folder to a user or group, browse into that folder from the Files tab and select the Permissions tab. Down below the 4 permissions boxes you will see “Grant Permissions to:” and then a listing of all your users and groups.

The following permission types can be granted to a user or group on any folder or combination of folders:

Write Only in This Folder Able to upload files, but not create or write to subfolders.
List / Preview Able to list files and folders and view previews, but not download.
View History Able to view the history of files and folders. (Enterprise-only feature).
Read Able to list and download files.
Write Able to upload files and create folders.
Read / Write / Delete Full access (read/write/move/rename/delete).

You can also give a user or group read (download) and write (upload) permissions but not delete or rename by giving them both Read and Write access.

Note About Recursive Permissions

By default, permissions in BrickFTP are recursive. If you grant someone access to a folder, you also grant them access to everything it contains, including other folders. Therefore, if you grant someone permissions on the root folder, they will have that permission on the entire FTP site. It is possible to make any permission non-recursive (i.e., limited to the specified folder only) using the REST API. For more information, see the REST API documentation on Permissions here.

Click the user or group you want and then select the permissions you want. Once you are ready, choose Add Permission and it will show up in the list.

To Delete a permission, simply hover your mouse over a permission and an ‘x’ will appear. Click that and that user’s permissions will be deleted back to their default permissions set in the User’s configuration page.

As noted above, permissions are recursive and cascade downward into child folders. You will know when you are viewing a cascading permission because the icon will change to an up arrow, allowing you to go up one folder in case you want to modify that user’s permission from the original location that the permission was assigned at.